The official draw for the 2018 ACL took place in Kuala Lumpur on Wednesday night, with Brisbane Roar also learning their play-offs fate.

In the group stages, A-League champions Sydney were drawn in Group H alongside J.League runners-up Kashima Antlers, Chinese FA Cup winners Shanghai Shenhua (who finished 11th in the league) and the play-off 1 winner, either Suwon Bluewings, Eastern or FLC Thanh Hoa.

If Suwon Bluewings progress, the group would be an exact replica of the one Sydney competed in in 2011.

Suwon are also the current club of Socceroo and ex-Sky Blues defender Matt Jurman.

Victory were drawn in Group F alongside Japanese champions Kawasaki Frontale, Korean FA Cup winners Ulsan Hyundai and the play-off 3 winner, either 2017 ACL semi-finalists Shanghai SIPG, Chiangrai United, Bali United or Tampines Rovers.

Roar will have to overcome Myanmar champions Shan United or the yet-to-be-determined Filipino champions in the play-offs. Victory there will see them progress to meet Chinese third-place getters Tianjin Quanjian for a spot in the group stages.

Should Roar make the last 32 they'd be in Group E alongside Korean champions Jeonbuk Motors, Hong Kong champions and ACL debutants Kitchee SC and the play-off 2 winner, either a to-be-determined Japanese club, Muangthong United or Johor.

Brisbane's play-off with either Shan United or the Filipino champions will take place on January 23. Their following play-off would be in China on January 30.

The 2018 ACL group stage commences on February 12.