It is believed up to six players will not return in 2017.   

Hooker Tatafu Polota-Nau has reportedly told teammates his won’t be back while Dean Mumm is still considering his future.

Club captain Dave Dennis (108 matches for NSW), Wycliff Palu (139), Kurtley Beale (110) have all stated they will not return along with Wallabies Polota-Nau (141) who is undecided.

Add in recently retired captain Benn Robinson (155) and NSW may be set for a rebuilding phase and relentless recruitment drive.  

The Waratahs’ 2016 Super Rugby campaign ended in Friday’s 34-28 loss to the Brumbies.