The season will kick off on the Thursday with Carlton facing 2017 Premiers Richmond at the MCG.

The Tigers will have eight fixtures in the prime-time Thursday and Friday night slots, compared to 0 Friday games in 2017. 

The defending Premiers will also play six of their first seven games of the season at the MCG. 

The Grand Final replay between Richmond and Adelaide Crows will be played in round two on a Thursday night at Adelaide Oval. 

For a full list of key fixtures, visit the official AFL website.