South African batsman Jiveshan Pillay was given out for obstructing the field, after picking up and throwing the ball to the West Indies' wicket keeper.
Pillay was on 47 off 51 balls when he edged a drive back off his body, that stopped centimetres off the pegs.
The South African batsman then grabbed the ball and threw it to the wicketkeeper, sparking instant appeals.
The MCC felt the need to speak out on the controvery, releasing an official statement saying the umpire had no choice but to give Pillay out.
“The first thing to say is that the umpires were completely correct in their decision to give Pillay out Obstructing the field,” the statement read.
“The Laws of Cricket are extremely clear on this matter. Law 37.4 states:
“Either batsman is out Obstructing the field if, at any time while the ball is in play and, without the consent of a fielder, he/she uses the bat or any part of his/her person to return the ball to any fielder.”
“Pillay did not seek, or receive the consent from, a fielder and did use his hand to return the ball to the wicketkeeper. He was thus rightly given out on appeal.”