The final team selection has five Englishmen, two South Africans, two Sri Lankans, an Afghan and a West Indian. This team has plenty of run scorers who can score quickly. There is more than one batter in the team that can score runs 360° around the pitch.

With the ball, they have the ability to blast the opposition out cheaply. There are two spinners in the team, world class ones at that, while the captain’s medium pace won’t be easy to get away.

As with the Australian team, the selection criteria are reputation, statistics and team balance.

Here’s the overseas team of the decade:

Michael Carberry (Eng) – Perth Scorchers

Batting ave 35.30, SR 127.50, HS 77no

A BBL winner with the Scorchers, Carberry’s consistency gets him the job at the top of the order.


Herschelle Gibbs (SA) – Perth Scorchers

Batting ave 32.53, SR 139.50, HS 71

Gibbs had the ability to either anchor an innings or explode himself. 488 runs over two seasons with the Scorchers sees the South African at the top of the order.


Kevin Pietersen (Eng) – Melbourne Stars

Batting ave 37.00, SR 137.17, HS 76

One of the most destructive batters to play in the BBL. Pietersen’s ability to play the most ridiculous shots easily, to open up the gaps, makes him a lock at number three. Never one to hide his feelings, like his pathological hatred of Brisbane, KP’s opinions polarise but make him fascinate to watch. Add his batting skills to that and he can’t be left out.


James Vince (Eng) – Sydney Thunder / Sydney Sixers

Batting ave 32.53, SR 134.50, HS 75

Vince’s tenure with the Thunder was nothing to write home about. His time with the Sixers has been far better. Plenty of runs in BBL08, and this season, have given the Englishman a place in the team.


Jacques Kallis (SA - capt) – Sydney Thunder

Batting ave 28.62, SR 119.67, HS 97no; Bowling ave 30.50, ER 6.93, BB 2-18

Kallis played for two BBL seasons and picked up three player-of-the-match awards in that time. International retirement that the South African played in BBL04 and BBL05. An exceptional batting all-rounder, Kallis also gets the captaincy.