The first phase of venue strategy has been approved by the ARLC in time for next week's resumption as COVID-19 halted the season after round 2.

Six venues - Bankwest Stadium, Campbelltown Stadium, Central Coast Stadium, Suncorp Stadium, Queensland Country Bank Stadium and AAMI Park - will be used until the completion of round 9, before a further review takes place.

The NRL believes that the stadiums and locations chosen best meet its biosecurity protocols, whilst other factors such as commercial reasons and the shape of the field were also taken into account.

Acting NRL CEO Andrew Abdo supported the reasoning.

"The competition will begin with a consolidated approach to venues. Each venue requires customised infrastructure to meet our strict biosecurity requirements. We've adopted a phased approach for venues should restrictions be eased in the future," Abdo said. 

"We've chosen three consolidated venues for clubs in and around Sydney to ensure there are no doubleheaders at venues and in different parts of the region to meet the geographical challenges we face."

The temporary homes for the following clubs:

Bankwest Stadium (Parramatta, NSW): Eels, Bulldogs, Rabbitohs, Sharks, Roosters

Campbelltown Stadium (Campbelltown, NSW)): Tigers, Dragons, Panthers, Raiders

Central Coast Stadium (Gosford, NSW): Knights, Warriors, Sea Eagles

Suncorp Stadium (Brisbane, QLD): Broncos, Titans

Queensland Country Bank Stadium (Townsville, QLD): Cowboys

AAMI Park (Melbourne, VIC): Storm