Slater escaped sanction after an apparently blatant shoulder charge on Sosaia Feki in Melbourne's semi-final win over Cronulla.

“After that I don’t know what a shoulder charge is any more. I think you’re all sitting there thinking the same thing,” Cordner told Triple M.

"Although it’s good to have a legend of our game and one of the best ever play his last game at a grand final, on the other hand you sit there scratching your head about what are the rules around that?

 “For me it’s a shoulder charge. We can’t do much about it. We’re playing the Storm with a full-strength team.”

Cordner thought Slater would escape suspension for his hit on Feki once he chose to fight the charge.

“I always thought he would play," the back-rower said. "I think everyone did.

"Either way there was going to be some noise about it. Everyone, just move on. We were preparing for Billy to play anyway."