Despite the apparent success of this year’s night race at Sydney Motorsport Park, the Eastern Creek venue has been dropped altogether, with instead a night race announced for the Perth round.

It is thought that high cost of lighting up the 3.9km Eastern Creek Sydney venue has prompted Supercars to shift the after-dark round to Perth’s much smaller Barbagallo Raceway. The Perth round also enjoys state government financial assistance.

In other changes, the Sandown 500 will move from its traditional September, pre-Bathurst 1000 timeslot, effectively swapping places on the calendar with the Pukekohe, New Zealand, round.

Sandown now becomes the penultimate round, with the series again finishing with the Newcastle street circuit event.

While NSW fans will be served only by the existing two regional events at Newcastle and Bathurst, all remaining states and the Northern Territory continue to host capital city rounds.

Victoria boasts four rounds, two of which – Albert Park and Sandown – are situated in the heart of Melbourne; Queensland retains its three rounds and likewise South Australia its two existing rounds.

In a further snub to NSW fans, the pre-season test day which in recent years has been held at the Eastern Creek circuit will now be held at Queensland Raceway and Phillip Island.

2019 Supercars calendar

Feb 13-14   Test DayQueensland Raceway/Phillip Island

Feb 28-Mar 3       Adelaide, SA

Mar 14-17   Albert Park, VIC

April 5-7     Symmons Plains, TAS

April 12-14 Phillip Island, VIC

May 2-4      Barbagallo Raceway, WA

May 24-26  Winton, VIC

June 14-16 Darwin, NT

July 5-7      Townsville, QLD

July 26-28  Queensland Raceway, QLD

Aug 23-25  Tailem Bend, SA

Sept 13-15  Pukekohe, NZ

Oct 10-13    Bathurst, NSW

Oct 25-27    Gold Coast, QLD

Nov 8-10     Sandown, VIC

Nov 22-24   Newcastle, NSW